Saint Omer, Extra

That’s a wrap on the thirty fourth annual Palm Springs Worldwide Movie Competition.

The desert fest rolled its credit Sunday by asserting this yr’s slate of award winners, together with jury prizes and viewers awards. Taking high honors — the Fipresci Prize as voted on by a particular jury of worldwide movie critics who reviewed 35 of 93 official submission for the Academy Awards worldwide function movie class — was Alice Diop’s authorized drama Saint Omer.

The jury praised the French movie for the way it interrogates problems with society, tradition, race and gender. “By harnessing the talents of her technical workforce, Diop turns Saint Omer right into a shrewd, cogent, formidable and overwhelming movie which teases a metafictional consciousness whereas remaining clear-eyed and unsentimental,” the jury stated in a press release.

Different Fipresci Prizes went to screenwriters Carla Simón and Arnau Vilaró for Alcarràs for worldwide screenplay (Spain), Oksana Cherkashyna from Klondike for greatest actress in a global function (Ukraine), and Ali Junejo from Joyland for greatest actor in a global function (Pakistan). The Fipresci jury consisted of Andrew Kendall of Stabroek Information, Anders E. Larsson of Lund Implausible Movie Competition and Robert Horton of Herald and Seattle Weekly.

One of the best documentary award went to Nisha Pahuja’s To Kill a Tiger. “The filmmakers sensitivity to the topics’ expertise and their poignant seize of shifting tones is an excellent use of the style, leading to a outstanding story profiling an everlasting father-daughter bond exemplifying a social evolution,” per the jury assertion. Diana Cadavid, director of the LALIFF and the FICCALI, filmmaker Amir George and movie competition programmer Robin Robinson served that jury.

See also  Kevin Spacey Pleads Not Responsible to Extra U.Okay. Sexual Assault Fees

The New Voices New Visions Award went to The Damned Don’t Cry from director Fyzal Boulifa. The Ibero-American Award — introduced to the most effective movie from Latin America, Spain or Portugal — went to director Manuela Martelli’s Chile ’76. The native jury award honored So Yun Um’s Liquor Retailer Goals. The Younger Cineastes Award Anthony Shim’s Riceboy Sleeps whereas the Mozaik Bridging the Borders Award went to Wissam Charaf’s Soiled Troublesome Harmful together with a $2,500 money prize.

Two viewers awards have been doled out as nicely with Santiago Mitre’s Argentina, 1985 profitable for greatest fiction movie, whereas Ross Kaufman’s Of Drugs and Miracles gained for greatest documentary. For a full recap of the winners and jury statements, click on right here.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top